The Quiet

So here I am, awake, and thinking if I get up and get out now, I could put in 3 hours of work before “Saturday breakfast” which of course, as everyone knows, it much later than weekday breakfast. However, lately, I don’t get weekday breakfast. And when I do it’s unhealthy and likely should have been NOT eaten. Like the fabulous donuts I got at the cider mill!

But here I sit, unwilling or unable to move toward my goals. I haven’t figured out if these wasted hours are a mistake or a necessary step toward (keeping) my sanity.

But here is what I do know: This thing called LIFE really has no mistakes in it. I know that is true for art and I know it’s true for everything. We are meant to do what we do even when we don’t mean to do it.

Hours of quiet coffee drinking and reading have a profound point just as much as the busy bustle. In fact, more. In these days of overstimulation, over scheduling and overindulgence, a little bit of nothing is a whole lotta somethin’.

So, as we charge ahead full steam into the holiday season, don’t forget to give a little bit of nothing to yourself.

Looking forward to having a quiet time for coffee, tea, and comfort at the new studio. But to do that I guess I better get going – think I’m ready to rock this! See you soon ❤

(challenge: pour yourself a full cup of coffee or tea and sit somewhere quietly and drink it without talking, reading, or using any electronics. Have a cup of coffee/tea with yourself. Breathe deeply and pay yourself some compliments. Have a conversation with yourself. Make this a daily practice.)

Leave a comment